Kids TV Loves and Loathes 

After another morning of Phoebe being entertained by the perky presenters on Milkshake tv and Cbebbies I feel I owe them some kind of thank you or a high five. I’m not ashamed to admit that yes I let my toddler watch TV. It allows me to crack on with boring mum duties (blogging) whilst she sings and dances along with the annoying yet super catchy songs unaware I have the beloved broom out, ready for action. Her main telly times are in morning during her breaky and again at tea time.

img_6273-1
Enjoying some morning tv

Phoebe has always been into music and seems to favour the shows that included a song, rhyme or a good theme tune. At first I thought  aww how sweet she’s into this song and just found it highly entertaining watching her dance around with the biggest smile on her face. Now however a few months down the line I’m finding myself humming the theme tunes, breaking into the occasional song and even choosing shows based on the music or characters…what’s happened to me!?!

I tend to read far to much into the plot, characters and sometimes just wonder what the funk they are  on about and more to the point what are the writers playing at. However I do secretly love certain characters and the odd song. Forget Phoebe’s favourite TV shows/songs here are mine…

Top 3 Kids TV Loves

1.Nanny Plum from Ben & Hollys Little Kingdom

Such a funny and sarcastic character. I love her quick wit, one liners and her relationship with the Wise Old Elf who she often turns into a frog, which is her favourite spell don’t you know! She has me cracking up into my cornflakes most mornings and always makes me smile with her classic line “silly old elf…back to yourself

Good old Nanny Plum

2. Peppa Pig Songs (not her)  

It was during one of the songs on a peppa pig episode (Bing Bong Boo) that Phoebe had her first proper dance…arms going, big smile and ever since she has had a massive love for Peppa bloody pig! I know it’s my own fault letting her watch the naughty puddle jumping, bossy boot loving, pig, but I am a sucker for a cheeky song, “The Sea the Sky the Sea the Sky” me and our own daddy pig can’t help but sing along!

img_6082
Enjoying some morning tv

3.Bubble Guppies

This is a fairly odd show and it’s in my top 3 purely based on the songs. A blogger recently made a comment on her post about the  “line up” song being the closet thing she had to a going out” I can totally relate to this, it’s a tune! Dancing around the this is sometimes the highlight of my day, as well as phoebes of course.

Outside Song YouTube Link

Top 3 TV Loathes

1.King Thistle from Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom

What a useless King! He does nothing, he gets poor old nanny plum to do everything. He’s very impatient and has clearly had everything hand to him on a sliver plate.He is ungrateful, and rude. But I like his groovy parents, obviously old school hippies!

King Thistle has flu, haha

2.Norman Price from Fireman Sam

This child clearly has issues. He is always getting the whole town into danger and causing totally mayhem, maybe an asbo might help! He holds the Gwyneth Book of Records for being rescued 57 times, surly that’s enough for some intervention.

Norman up to his usual tricks agin!

3.  Mayor Goodway from Paw Patrol

Seriously this women needs to get a grip. First off nothing is ever mention about her purse chicken,  Chickaletta. She treats this poor chicken like her child, it is goes everywhere with her, even in a hot air ballon, which considering she is acrophobic (fear of heights) never seemed like a good idea to start with. Goodway is forever getting herself into sticky situation calling in Ryder and his pups to save the day, yet agin cleaning up the mess.

“oohhh chickaletta here comes Ryder”

 

So there you have my favourite loves and loathes of kids TV.

Do you agree with me or do you have our own loathes? or do you secretly love watching Bob the builder, let me know your favourites by commenting below.

Linked with the following brilliant blogs:

A Cornish Mum
You Baby Me Mummy
Pink Pear Bear
My Random Musings
Cuddle Fairy
56 thoughts on “Kids TV Loves and Loathes 

    1. She drives me crazy, she needs a life. She is trying to keep her family tradition going by being mayor as her great great grandfather was mayor…move on sister! X

      Like

  1. It’s so funny how we have our favourites from these silly shows! It always amazes me at the story lines (which are sometimes really quite inappropriate haha!) when you really sit down and watch them! #PicknMix

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree on the storylines, whi comes up with this stuff! I mean a lost alien landing in adventurebay, come on it’s not X flies
      #readingtoomuchintoit

      Like

    1. It’s the way forward, no adverts! Can you create a kind of playlist with programmes? Lined up ready? We are getting one soon, so would be good to know. Thanks for your comments.

      Like

  2. We generally watch CBeebies but occasionally turn over to Nick Jr to watch Peppa or Ben & Holly. I don’t mind either of them and even get a bit excited when I see an episode of Peppa that I’ve never seen before!! I cannot stand Dora the bloody explorer though – just no, we switch her and smug little face straight off! #picknmix

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here, I love the no adverts on CBeebies but I love Ben and holly too. I also get very excited when I haven’t seen an episode…my oh is always glued to the telly when he hasn’t seen it 🙂 Dora is okay for the occasionally Spanish, but twice a week, that’s my limit, that bloody map!!! Ekkk 🙂

      Like

  3. Nanny Plum is brilliant! I much prefer Ben and Holly to Peppa pig and I think Nanny Plum is a big part of that. My kids have also just started watching Bubble Guppies, and after an initial feeling of “what is going on, this is a really odd show” I now quite like it! I sing the ‘line up everybody’ song quite a lot when we’re heading out the door! x #TheList

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree nanny plum is bloody brilliant and therefore makes the show what it is, far better than peppa! I like the idea of getting the kids to line up as you leave, my little girl is almost two, it would also only be one girl line up! Thanks for commenting X

      Like

  4. My favourite song on Peppa is;
    ‘The Birds go Woof, and the Dogs go Tweet.
    Woof Tweet Woof Tweet Woof Woof Woof!
    The Sheep go Moo & the Cows go Baa!
    Moo Baa Woof Tweet Moo Baa Woof Tweet
    WOOF WOOF WOOF!’

    Such a classic.
    Hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Proper tune that one! I was so happy when they put the “sing along” episodes out so I could catch it properly! Don’t wanna disappoint my little one now do I!

      Like

  5. So far my son only seems to watch tellytubbies and post man pat. Annoyingly i find myself sitting watching it still while he toddles off. The only thing i’ve seen that i cant bear to watch is mr tubble other than that i don’t really mind. Looking forward to watching all disney films as he gets older.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Postman pat is a great show, good taste. Phoebe just likes the “cat” and shouts “CATT” really loud whenever Jess appears! I also find myself doing the same, watching when they walk off…no shame it that’ haha. Oh yes the Disney classics will be so much fun. We have done Cinderella and it went down such a treat 😉 the mice and little gus gus are her favourites so far 🙂 thanks for commenting

      Like

  6. I love Ben and Holly put have started totally hating Peppa Pig -more George, not her because my toddler started saying NO! like him a bajillion times a day. Peppa and George have conveniently gone on holiday now! Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub lovely x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My 2.5 year old son has recently become obsessed with “Pig” (of the Peppa variety) lately and I have to say, I can feel a blog post coming on. How annoying is Peppa? Also, George’s whiney cry gets right on my bloody nerves an’ all. I’m looking forward to this phase passing I have to say. #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to hear that post, as mine is peppa obsessed too! And your right George is a whiner, just says “nooo” he needs more vocabulary for his age! Haha X

      Like

  8. I did a whole post on Paw Patrol. *shudders*. No matter how much I loathe it it’should not as bad as Max and Ruby. Nothing is as bad as that show. It turns blandness into something offensive and that takes skill.

    I understand what you mean about reading too much into shows. Bubble Guppies breaks my head for those reasons. How are they under water but on a boat on a river?

    I like Umi Zoomi and even Curious George so don’t mind when they ask for it. Dinosaur Train was a surprise too. Especially finding out all the dinosaurs I knew have been renamed!

    #AnythingGoes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oohh I’m going to have to read that, it’s my oh favourite! Yes agreed that max and ruby are boring. Umi Zommi is good, the music goes down a treat and I wish dinosaur train was on a bit more as I love it too! Thanks for commenting X

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I do love Bubble Guppies, I just love the song and I think it’s actually watchable.
    I also hate Norman Price, he is an irritating child, isn’t he?
    We do love a big of Octonauts in my house, in fact my kids are obsessed and it’s a program I don’t mind watching
    #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get totally sucked into the underwater world of bubble guppies, it definitely watchable for sure. Norman needs help, so annoying!!! Octonauts is fab, we’ve just started watching it, we both quite like it 🙂

      Like

  10. Norman Price and that Mayor from PP are the worst I have to agree! One of the ones I don’t mind watching… I mean the boys watching… is Octonauts, definitely one of the least annoying shows on the go at the moment. 🙂 #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry I didn’t personally name you, I couldn’t remember where I had read it! So true the plots are rubbish and I’m glad you like the post 😉 😊

      Like

  11. Oh you’re so much nicer than me, I won’t let him watch the new style Fireman Sam at all as I don’t like it as much as the one I remember!! I do force him to watch Hey Duggee though as I love it, I’m a big fan of Charlie & Lola and Sarah and Duck too. Poor kid, his mum is so lame 🙂 #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s totally messed up but I just love it so I allow it to be on! Oh I love Hey Dugee, it’s cute and colourful 🙂 I also love the animation of Charlie & Lola and how sweet Charlie is with his little sister.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They have gone too far with Norman, he needs some boot camp or like I said an asbo, the town would be so much safer! Phoebe is really into dinosaurs so it’s a nice way of her seeing them and I quite like it too!

      Like

  12. I am not ashamed to let my kids watch cartoons. Especially if they happen to also be educational ones. Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Little Einsteins happen to be favorites in this house. I also let them play xbox on the weekends if it isn’t nice outside because quite frankly I grew up playing Pac-Man until i had sores on my hands from gripping the Atari stick and I still turned out quite intelligent. Kids just need to be kids sometimes and mommies need time to get stuff done. I am visiting from #bigpinklink.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh did I not add the badge? It should be there! Oops I’ll edit it later thanks for commenting and it’s official the line up song is addictive 🙂

      Like

  13. I am sure many parents can relate to all your comments here on characters and shows. To be honest Peppa drives me mad but Monkey loves it. Although his all time favourite at the moment is most definitely Paw Patrol and as for the handbag chicken… well!!! I won’t swear!! Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope to see you again next week x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting, it’s such a battle between what they like and whats annoying but at least the kids are happy! Thanks for hosting, I’ll be back next week x

      Like

    1. It’s all about the Nanny Plum Love right here! Don’t worry I couldn’t believe I’d written a whole post on kids tv… Daddy pig was like ” you watch too much to and think far too much about it” I think he’s right for once, sssshhh don’t tell him! Thanks for reading

      Like

    1. We love Duggee and thankfully feebs doesn’t watch too much peppa these days but the Bing Bong song is still floating around my head. Thanks for hosting X

      Like

  14. Can I confess I love the happy Mrs chicken game from Peppa pig when ever I see that episode or my girls play the game I end up in hysterical laughter I think it’s the noise the poop noise the chicken makes when she lays the egg it brings out my inner 5 yr old !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Confess away! I didn’t know it was an actual game? An app?! Tell me more, I love toilet humour and my little girl totally gets it too so this sounds right up out street, thanks for reading

      Like

  15. I love Nanny Plum! Ben and Holly as a whole is brilliant (even King Thistle – sorry!) It is one of those kids cartoons that has underlying jokes that parents will get (like when the Wise Old Elf and the other elves were fixing a leaky roof for Gaston and every time the King came to check on them, they were drinking tea and listening to music).
    My boys have moved on to cartoons like Scooby Doo and Tom and Jerry now, and I am pining for a bit of CBeebies!
    #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do love Ben and holly, and the way they sneak the adult jokes in, makes it worth watching! Thanks for reading and enjoy Tom and Jerry that’s a brilliant show, a classic, have they re designed it now?! Thanks for reading

      Like

  16. I can’t stand Paw Patrol and am convinced Norman Price is Sam’s lovechild. Though it annoys me that the naughty child is the one of the single mother – why not one of the twins?!!? Haha Thanks for linking up with #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

  17. We love Bing and Sarah & Duck, but I have never been able to figure out why Bing has a stuffed animal caring for him and how Social Services haven’t intervened and taken Sarah into care, considering the fact that no one else appears to actually be looking after her and she is probably only about 8. Weird. #Chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not really done Sarah & duck but I think there needs to be some intervention, poor Sarah on her own! Bing, is a weird one I don’t know what the set up is and it bothers me! Thanks for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I’ve never heard of some of these because for a long time our viewing has been limited to Thomas & Friends! A tune I know far too well! We’re just starting to branch out, thank goodness! #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below

