Carrot Cake Muffin Recipe 

I always thought that when I started my blog I would be posting heaps of tasty, easy to follow recipes but that hasn’t quite been the case, until now. Phoebe has recently started to show an huge interest in baking/cooking, mainly putting or rather throwing the ingredients into the mixing bowl followed by her frantic freestyle mixing, lots of licking the spoon afterwards and then tears when it’s gone in the oven 😦 it’s an emotional thing being a toddler baker!

I always try to make as fun for Phoebe as possible by choose ingredients that are texturally appealing, bright and easily recognisable for her. This helps to get her involved, concentrate and is also improving her speech. I normally prep as much as I can without her noticing and have everything in bowls or laid out so we can talk about what’s going in,  it also means no waiting around for an excited explorer who is raring to bake.


Carrot Cake Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Prep: 25 Mins (depending if you have children

Makes 12 Muffins

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (spooned and levelled)
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 8-ounce bar cream cheese, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup icing sugar

Muffin Directions
Preheat oven to 350degrees or gas Mark 4. Oil a standard 12-cup muffin tin or line with paper liners.

Playing with the muffin tray
In a bowl, combine granulated sugar, vegetable oil, orange juice, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, and eggs. (carefully picking out the egg shells)

Phoebe pouring
Stir in baking powder, baking soda, allspice, and salt. Next add flour and mix. Stir in carrots and walnuts. I sometimes also use, raisins.

img_7329
Carrots are a GO GO!
Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. I normally fill them 3/4 or until I run out of mix. I also find putting the mix in a jug and nice way to involve Phoebe with the pouring.

img_7334
Ready for baking
Bake until toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean, 20-25 minutes.

Let them cool completely before frosting. Resist temptation unlike me and Phoebe!

I had to try a hot one!
Icing

In a mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, icing sugar, and remaining 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract. Whisk until smooth.

Whisk away
Frost cupcakes however you like, with a spoon, piping bag or even toddlers sticky fingers will do.

The finished product
I hope you enjoyed our first recipe. Please share your favourite baking tips or recipes with me, I would love to hear them, and photos too.

Linked with the following Blogs

Diary of an imperfect mum

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.comThe Mummy Toolbox

A Cornish Mum
You Baby Me Mummy
14 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Muffin Recipe 

  1. Yum yum yum. I love carrot cake, never made the muffins though so will give them a go. I totally agree that toddler baking can be emotional, my 2 year old has a love/hate relationship with baking haha xx #familyfun

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, they turned out well. I find the muffins easier to make, quicker and without the frosting, fairly kid friendly 🙂 it really is a roller coaster of emotions for them at this age, the smallest things can set them off. Thanks for commenting X

      Like

  2. I just loved frosting and stupidly (I’m rubbish at baking) had no idea how it was made so thanks for sharing. These look lovely and I am so impressed that you are getting Phoebe involved. I am such a control freak I get anxious baking with my two unless it’s from a box. TY for linking up with #FamilyFun 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I could help on the frosting, i always thought it was quite hard but it’s dead easy! Phoebe is so active I have to do so much with her and this takes up a good chunk of an afternoon, also having all the stuff prepared totally helps the mess and safety of everyone!! Hahha oh and I should have added on the post…Always have extra ingredients incase they just start smashing the eggs ( it happened once) thanks for hosting, I plan to join next week with another recipe 🙂

      Like

  3. These look delish! I have never added orange juice to cake mix before so might have to give them a go and see how they turn out! I’m thinknig something a little citrus-y – Thanks so much for linking to #YumTum this week, great to have you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, they tasted yummy too. The orange helps them stay moist I suppose and gives it a little zing! No worries thanks for hosting, I’ll be back next week hopefully X

      Like

  4. I made my first ever carrot cake last week and my first ever blueberry and strawberry muffins but never thought of combining them! Definitely bookmarking this! #familyfun

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good effort, I find the cake take too long to bake and I’m better at smaller amounts plus Phoebe can get involved! Muffins are the way forward 🙂 thanks for commenting X

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I also had a big craving for some, that’s why we made it, you’ve gotta be in the mood for carrot cake I always think. It was super fun and messy but worth it 🙂 thanks for being a fab host. X

      Like

Leave a comment below

