Home Sweet Home

It’s almost been a week since my little Phoebe turned 2 and it’s been a wonderful week finally seeing the Peppa Pig Party come to life rather than having to organise it all and not having to run around town getting sweaty and stressed out looking for bloody birthday bags has been joyous. So, this week I’ve been at home, playing catch up or at least attempting to get everything back to normal (hiding the cake) after the high of the party, swapping Phoebe’s toys around with all the lovely new ones, dealing with the aftermath of party mess plus the laundry which I seemed to just ignore last week..oops. My blog was also feeling a bit neglected with all the party plans taking over, I had no time to link up let alone write new posts, so this week I’ve made it my focus to just get back in the blogging saddle and get writing, it’s felt good.
Everyday me and Phoebe have taken full advantage of the sunny weather by playing in the garden, all day. For her birthday, she received a gorgeous big summer house, with lots of lovely little features, plus another kitchen/cooker to go inside, It’s gone down so well meaning we can spend more time at home and I can relax (almost) when the Phoebe is playing outside as I know she has something to focus on rather than trying to eat leaves and berries, she still does this but not as much. With the weather being so nice I’ve managed to get my washing on the line a few times this week, Phoebe did however rub her “lollol” – mini milk ice cream into my jumper one day but I didn’t care, she was enjoying herself and is still a bit too young to totally understand. Water has played a huge part of this weeks play, with buckets of the stuff being poured or tipped all over herself and anything (me) that’s in the way, thankfully with the sun shining it was all good fun.
There have been a few times this week were Phoebe has tested the boundaries, ending up with some epic tantrums (separate post coming) but I’ve kept my cool by coming down to her level, repeating the same sentence and staying firm on my decision. It’s been tough but she has to learn. The little bull inside her can’t help but be stubborn and strong willed, so I’m trying to teach her to slow down, focus on one task and not to get some frustrated, which is easier said than done.
Overall its been a week of garden fun, sunshine, tantrums and washing so my word of the week has to be….WOTW2 (3)
How would you sum up your week in just one word? Let me know below and join in the fun oh and any tips on dealing with a 2 year bossy boots would be much appreciated.

Linked with the following Blogs:

This Mum's Life

Monkey and Mouse

 

30 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

    1. Thanks for the sound advice, I know I shouldn’t wish it away but sometimes the tantrums get so bad! And yes she literally is so happy when she sun is shining, but who isn’t hey! Thanks for reading X

      Like

  1. It looks like you’ve all had a great time, minus the tantrums. Even now my daughter still has her fair share, at five and a half years old it’s really wearing me a little thin! #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My word of the week would be ‘vomit.’ My poor eldest had the worst vomiting bug ever, and I’ve literally never seen so much of it in my entire life… But you sound like youve had a really good week! It must be a relief now with the party over! The outdoor play house sounds amazing-children just adore those don’t they?! Having this warmer weather makes so much difference to everyone’s moods! Even being stuck in a lot of the time for us, just having the sun streaming through the windows has made it so much more bearable!! I have no tips on toddler tantrums-I mainly just ignore them!! If I really don’t know the reason behind it, I’ll try and find out, but if it’s something obvious like not being allowed chocolate for breakfast, it gets explained once, then ignored!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s not a word I would enjoy! Hope everyone is better now and you’ve all managed some rest and enjoyed the sun through the windows!! the play house is a godsend and means she can actually play, plus it’s so funny watching our super tall mates being MADE to go inside for a grand tour! Haha! Tantrums are funny but it’s all about boundaries right, and they are seeing how far they can push us..love your tips and I often do the same! Thanks for reading x

      Like

  3. Like you my word of the week would be “sunshine”! You have had a brilliant week, and Happy Birthday to Phoebe! The weather makes everything so much easier I find, you mentioned being able to have more time at home. I agree with that with the sun shining, we have been able to spend much more time in the garden, meaning my daughter hasn’t always needed to go out for a walk, I’ve even been able to get her to sleep a couple of times in her buggy in the garden. A play house sounds like a fab birthday present, and I hope the tantrums weren’t too bad! Thank you so much for joining our party at #fortheloveofBLOG, hope you can join us next week. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for reading and your lovely comments. The weather really does make it all better, and the struggle to make it out is gone, as the kids are more than happy in the garden! Oh those buggy garden sleeps are so nice, I remember those..might try it agin when the sun comes back out. Thanks for hosting, hope it’s going well. I’ll be back next week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember the tantrums! Luckily ours didn’t start until she was 3yrs. Looks like you’ve got it under control with your approach. Good luck to you! Enjoys the two’s…it’s so much fun especially with them talking and being able to communicate with you. #whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Phoebe started getting her grump on at around 13 months properly and when she’s going through a leap or teething it tends to get worse. I’m trying, it doesn’t always work and she’s now started saying “pleasssee” which is super cute but I have to stay strong! Thanks for reading X

      Like

    1. It’s been so much fun hanging out and seeing what she wants to play with for that minute…she gets easily distracted so I try to focus her a little without getting too involved as its good to let them play without prompts. Thanks for reading X

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have yet to figure out all things linky, but one thingfor certain is that I love being able to meet new blogs and super rad mommas through the parties! Speaking of, happy belated Big 2 to your adorable little one! My cherub turned 2 in February and I can relate to the fun-filled day, and truly relishing in the fact that all planning and prep work was completed. It’s so nice to just enjoy their happy faces on the day of! Two has been terrible, and all too terrific thus far. 🙂 X, Lace

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading and it certainly was a mission the birthday prep/planning, but so worth it. The last few weeks have been quite full on, she’s owning her new 2year title well 🙂

      Like

  6. Sounds like a lovely week, it’s nice just to chill out at home sometimes-especially after life has been so busy. The weather has been amazing, glad you’ve been able to make the most of it with plenty of time outside. I’m dreading the tantrums, Finn is about 16 months but I can see a glimmer of the future every so often when he has abi of a whinge-not looking forward to a full blown strop! Love the cake btw! #whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so needed for me and Phoebe just to get comfy at home and in the garden after a full on week. this week we have ventured out more, which has meant more tantrums, good luck with Finn it sounds like he might be starting and when they full blown ones come, just try to breathe that’s all I’ll say 🙂 thanks for lovely comments and the cake was lush! X

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It sounds like such a lovely week. Apart from the tantrums of course. We have a bossy little two year old and oh my do we have such full blown tantrums at the moment. I hope they go for you soon as well. Happy Birthday to Phoebe! Your photos are gorgeous. I really love her pram. Thank you so much for sharing with #whatevertheweather x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading Chloe. It was a lovely week with the tantrums keeping it real eh! The bossy toddlers are funny, it always makes me laugh if not cry!! Thanks for the belated bday wishes, she had a fabulous time and loves the pram, which was a proper bargain on Amazon! Thanks for hosting X

      Like

Leave a comment below

