How I survived throwing my Toddlers 2nd Birthday Party 

This time last week Phoebe’s birthday party was all over and yesterday’s news! It’s only now I feel like I can sit down, relax and take it all in without over thinking it. The party itself went really well, and more so from a guests point of view as hosting and organising it is a totally different ball game. I think this quote sums it up perfectly.

“Be a duck, remain calm on the surface and paddle like hell underneath”

Michael Caine

The night before I was frantically doing final preparations {cutting out anything Peppa pig related } for Phoebes long awaited 2nd birthday with a Peppa Pig theme. Now I bet you’re all thinking “why would you do that to yourself!?” Well, it’s because I obviously love giving myself a challenge and Phoebe is obsessed with the pig, so it all seemed perfect.

I had dozens of grand ideas for the party, some of which I can now look back on and laugh about, however, at the time when someone {my mum} suggested it seemed like a crazy idea and far too much work to make 20 peppa pig cardboard houses for the party bags, I just didn’t see it. Organising a party in today’s modern, social media age, gives you overwhelming ideas and inspiration, some of which are total OTT for a toddler party. This didn’t stop me diving fully into Pinterest every night, scoping out anything Peppa Pig related that was age appropriate and pinning away to my “dream party plans” board.

I showed daddy pig my board, once it was all finished and we started bouncing ideas around then suddenly he came up with the best idea. I wanted to make a large cardboard cutout of Peppa’s car, that the kids could play and pose behind. After talking about it I realised the toddlers probably wouldn’t get it, it might be hard to put up, would get pulled down instantly and could have the potential to cause mega tantrums. So, Daddy pig just went crazy and said he would make a proper little wooden car {he is a carpenter} that they could all sit in. I wasn’t sure it would happen, but he kept his word and started that afternoon. The car ended up with two rows of seats, a working steering wheel, amazing details and finishing touches that the toddlers went nuts for! Which goes to prove we are capable of coming up with our own ideas and they often end up working out better than the original plan.

The party planning stresses were soon forgotten on the actual day and quickly replaced with “set up stresses” but seeing Phoebes little face light up when she walked into the hall for the first time and noticed all the decorations, the car daddy pig built, balloons and the cake, made it totally worth all the hard work and effort.

It wasn’t easy but somehow we made it through all the planning, preparations and pulled off a fabulous party including games, music and heaps of food. Daddy pig made all the food himself, which had intended on being nut-free due to one of Phoebes friends having an allergy, however he sadly couldn’t attend, so daddy pig added a few extras dishes including nuts and pimped up the quiche with pesto. The food was a big hit all round and there was hardly any over left at the end. It was a slow start as we did forget to bring our own cutlery, thinking they had lots there {what an mummy error} it did make for a funny story I suppose watching them tuck in regardless.

IMG_8249
Party Time

When the time came for the cake and candles, I realised I also hadn’t bought any, assuming nanny {my step mum } would have some as she decorated the cakes and finished then off, she didn’t have any thinking I would! Anyways whilst I’m running around trying to look for some, everyone has started singing and I pretty much missed it all. Daddy pig then needed to cut the cake, so I swiftly got handed a crazy Phoebe, who was trying to grab the cake by pretending she was in team GB gymnastic squad wriggling and flipping out of my arms. All very stressful but it also meant the bloody party was coming to an end and I could see a messy light at the end of the tunnel. The party bags were all handed out and the clean up mission began, which ended up with all hands of deck as the next booking had arrived whilst we were still finishing up….basically everything got taken outside into the park area and thrown into bags. This didn’t make it an easy unpack at the other end, plus all Phoebe wanted to do was open all her presents, wear all her new clothes whilst shouting “CAKKKKEEE” really loud.

f894421b-adef-4564-be81-a3d868098122
Balloons, new Shoes & lots of presents

Once we gave her dinner and of course cake, she had a much needed bath was asleep within 5 minutes of putting her down, 7:15pm on the dot and me and daddy pig we left to deal with the party aftermath, we chose to partially ignore it and have a take away, I think we were both in bed by 9:30pm. Phoebe luckily, decided to be born over a bank holiday weekend, meaning Monday was a team effort and we even got a few Phoebe hours free in the afternoon as Nanna, Grandad and her Great Grandad aka, GG took her out for a beach trip.

Have you recently organised your child’s birthday party, if so what did you forget to bring? what went better than planned and what wouldn’t you do again? I forgot the candles for the cake & cutlery, the pass the parcel game went better than planned and I wouldn’t stress so much about the smaller details next time, try to enjoy it more and I’d drink more Posecco!

Linked with the following Blogs:

Mummascribbles

Cuddle Fairy
A Cornish Mum
A Mum Track Mind
34 thoughts on “How I survived throwing my Toddlers 2nd Birthday Party 

  1. The car was amazing, my two loved the radio And steering wheel especially!
    Must start planning our party, thanks for the tips! Cutlery and candles are going to be first on the list, right next to lots and lots of balloons.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Lola, it was loving seeing them playing with the car and also nice to see you when I had a minute. Thanks for reading and hopefully catch up again soon 🙂 we still have the car at home, so if they wanna come play…beep beep! X

      Like

  2. I went crazy for Pintrest too, I really wanted to make a Watermelon shark… Look one up. Mum told me to forget it and I finally conceded that there are no watermelons on sale in May which is a jolly good job as I never would have had time with too many of my dishes needing to be prepped on the morning.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh those watermelon things are so cool, but I suppose our mothers know best eh!? The time will come when our own kids will want to do these great ideas and we will have to “know best” can’t wait for the tables to be turned. Hope it went well, any post about it? X thanks for reading x

      Like

      1. I am making a minecraft birthday cake. We are going to the cinema to watch Angry Birds the movie and so the party bags will be angry birds lol… Bit of a miss match but its only really family this year as I’ve downsized. We did the massive party for 50 last year… too many!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my gosh I am super impressed!! What an amazing party for Phoebe. I love the car. I think I am going to be the worst parent ever with retro parties – pass the parcel and jelly & ice cream haha! Hope you’re sufficiently recovered. #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 2 people

  4. How amazing! That car is amazing, too. My daughter turns one at the end of this month and my Daddy Pig wanted to have a party but I managed to talk him out of it, on the deal that we would have a big party next year. I am dreading it but I, like you, will go OTT and want everything perfect. Part of me is terrified and part of me already wants to start planning haha! Happy birthday too, little one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for lovely comment, the car was a great idea and so pleased we pulled it off! can’t wait to hear all about the party next year, lots of time is good but just make sure you get your venue in time and on your chosen day, and don’t forgot candles! Haha X

      Like

  5. Kids parties are so much more stressful to organise than grown up ones. Grown up ones, if you nail the booze, everything else is secondary lol 🙂 Phoebe looks so happy so you obviously did a fab job! The wooden car is a great idea
    Thanks for linking up to #BloggerClubUK 🙂
    Debbie

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It seems that way, it’s like you have to plan exactly what to do, and hope for be best with these mini ones! We made sure we had parents party juice, which I think helped, who knows everyone was merry and happy and mostly importantly the children had a ball, playing with the handmade car which we are quite proud of! Job done! Thanks for reading and hosting, hope it’s gone well. X

      Like

    1. Thanks for your lovely comments. The car turned out so well, we were so pleased and the fact she and all her mates love it made it worth the extra effort, it’s just to do with it now! Your totally right about being on show I get that! Plus it’s dealing with all the family politics. That party sounds brilliant, what a fun combo and it suits everyone 🙂 what’s for next years party? Thanks for reading X

      Like

  6. Wow what a lovely party! The car is an amazing idea and looks amazing! We have just had Mia’s 3rd birthday so I know what its like with all of the planning and organising to do! Her birthday is also over a bank holiday which gave us an extra day to recover as we were all shattered! 🙂

    #PicnMix

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your lovely comments. The car was such a good touch and the kids loved it, I should pin it to my Pinterest board! We planned out labours well eh, bank holiday 🙂 hope Mia’s party went well and that extra day is so needed after the mayhem of the mini takeover! Thanks for reading

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks, it all come together finally and the car far better than we had planned, it’s still in our home, taking up lots of too but Phoebe still loves it and overall she enjoyed the party so much 🙂 thanks for reading

      Like

  7. prosecco at a party – fantastic! I haven’t done anything huge for birthdays so far. he is three next month and I just don’t have the time/energy throw something huge. I will next year 🙂 once we are moved and all sorted! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course, darling! Haha that way they thinks it’s just normal, and in years to come will just think it’s the mummy and daddies “party juice” 🍾 we have lots of close family and friends so always invite them all and it’s hard work but always worth it! Thanks for reading and good luck with the parties X

      Like

  8. Looks lovely…your tip for prosecco at the end is a must! We did a big joint 30th and 1st birthday for me and my son and the main feature was a train ride and lots of punch! Ah I WISH I lived with a carpenter though…that car is amazing! Looks like everyone had a great time and lots of happy memories created. Phoebe is gorgeous! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for all your lovely comments! The prosecco just added to the grown up feel! The joint party sounds great, choo choo !!! It’s great to have a partner as by a carpenter but it does mean we have all sorts of random wood and stuff lying around for ages before he turns it into a masterpiece 🙂 thanks for reading X

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, the car was pretty cool and your so right it was more beer o’clock {stick to the fizz right!} than wine and it tastes sooo good followed my mouthfuls of Chinese! Phoebe loves every minute of it, so I was happy 🙂 thanks for reading X

      Liked by 1 person

  9. That car is flipping amazing! I’m totally guilty of going OTT with the party planning for pretty much any and every event (my Pinterest board is evidence of this!) so you are not alone. I’m also seriously loving that cake – pretty impressive! So glad she enjoyed her party – happy birthday little one! Thanks for sharing your post on #fortheloveofBLOG. Hope to see you next week x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for all your lovely comments. It’s seems people either do go one way or the other, me I think if you’re going to do it, smash it and go all out! The cake was a labour of love for the makers (nanny & daddy pig) and we ended up with the muddy chocolate base, and two lemon drizzles ontop! It was a lot of work but a fab end finish 😉 thanks for the belated birthday wishes she is loving her new title of the 2 year old and tells anyone and everyone. Thanks for hosting and I’ll be back for sure X

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks babe, it was such a good idea making the car and we still have it at home and she is still loving it! Beep beep! I’m glad I’m not the only one who goes a bit full party 🙂 it’s so easy to get ideas and inspiration these days but it also makes me want to do EVERYTHING!!! Thanks for having me x

      Like

Leave a comment below

