Don’t Worry Be Happy

It’s been a few weeks since I last wrote any form of happy list,it’s not because I haven’t been happy.  I’ve been quite emotional with all the horrific news but it’s also just been finding the time.Phoebe is such an active toddler these days, she literally doesn’t stop unless eating and even then she bangs her legs plus is very vocal. Phoebe only has one big nap a day (after lunch) which means I’ve lost my morning blog session and instead can now be found running around the park with my full of beans daughter or trying out new local playgroups to make new mummy friends, praying Phoebe doesn’t insist on tightly bear hugging every child she likes the look of…as this is happening a lot at the moment. She loves hugging and hand holding, which doesn’t always go down too well with the other kids, what can I say my girl is a hugger!

In keeping with my Happy music  Theme (check out my previous Happy post for more info) this week I’ve chosen one of my favourite Bob Marley songs for the title and it’s perfect as it always reminds me that every little thing is gonna be alright….

My Happy List

  • Swimming. For the last three Friday’s I’ve been taking Phoebe for swimming lessons and this week it was really nice to see her less frantic and joining in a bit more with the planned exercisers. The instructor was great at giving me pointers during the lesson when she could see I was struggling with my fidget, which helped a lot.
  • Superhero Party. Saturday was a birthday extravaganza, with 4 of Phoebes friends having a joint Super Hero Party for their 2nd birthdays. It was so much fun, they (the parents) hired a big hall, filled it with lots of soft play  eupitment (including a slide set up), toys, superhero themed games and lots of Cake, 4 cakes to be exact. Phoebe played her little heart out for the whole 2 and half hours. She was extremely friendly and sociable to the point people were complementing me on it. Overall a successful toddler party, mummy pig even had a couple of beers!
  • Daddy Day. This year for fathers day, Phoebe understood that something was going on as she helped chose all the cards and gifts for Daddy and both granddad’s. It’s been so cute watching her get excited about it all, she can’t say Fathers day so it’s now known as “Daddy Day” which I think sound better anyway. Come Sunday Phoebe couldn’t wait to give Daddy all his treats so we woke him up earlier than planned with coffee and cuddles. It was a nice relaxed day followed by dinner with Grandad Dog, perfect.
  • Chatterbox. Phoebe is currently in what I’m calling the parrot stage of speech where she literally copies everything you say, well gives it a go. My favourite is the ones she’s picked up from me asking if she’s okay, so when she falls over (a lot) i’ll say “are you okay” and she says ” yeah, ok mummy” or “”oh nooo okay”  followed by me having to kiss the sore area. Her speech has improved dramatically over the last 2 week and its amazing to hear her little voice or rather loud voice come out.
  • Peonies. Never being that green fingered, I’m quite pleased with my recent attempts at maintaining our garden (front & back) and keeping the plants alive. I have the old house owner to thank for some gorgeous plants in our garden. The peonies are my favourite and they make me smile every time I see them. This time of year means our garden comes alive with colour and feels happy, therefore it makes me happy.
  • Baking. I’ve started baking again with Phoebe as its something I really enjoy and I know she does too and also being a wee bit older she’s dealing with it way better than a few months back! The whole experience is lovely to watch. The way she runs to put her special  apron on, pours  in the dry mix which such force and then has her own style of manic mixing. It seems to do the job as our bakes have been lovely.
  • Euro’s 2016. I’m sorry to say but I am a massive football fan. It makes me so happy and sad all at the same time but at the moment more happy. England haven’t been fantastic but they’ve got through to the next round, meaning we get to watch more of England on the telly, therefore making it onto my list. I won’t bang on about it too much longer but it’s also been amazing just watching all the teams play, some top class football.
  • Inside Fun. With the rubbish rainy weather lately, we’ve been inside a bit more than normal so I made sure Phoebe had plenty to do. Play-dough mashing was messy but great watching her get into it properly. Lego Dulpo has also made a lot of appearances during the week. Den making wasn’t as easy as it looks, but worth it once she understood how it worked a bit more. Painting has been my personal  highlight as it’s something I enjoy myself. Watching my creative minx hard at work mixing the paint was such a joy, a messy joy but I just soaked up every second, starting at my little girl growing up.
  • Outside Adventures. After a few rainy days spent inside me and Phoebe both needed to get out and about so, with a break in the rain we made our escape to the local park. Playing and embracing the dark grey day. Phoebe had her waterproofs on, so when it did eventually rain it was fine, in fact it was quite refreshing as it had been so muggy and close. On another sunny-ish day we went for a beautiful walk around the Quay (Exeter) with a mummy friend and her little girl. Both girls had their backpack reins on and were happy exploring and walking. Phoebe did go in for the hand holding, it lasted for about 1 minute but it was a super cute minute.
  • Home Cooking. Daddy Pig was been working lots of extra hours recently so I’ve had to do a bit more cooking at home. I would normally get annoyed and put myself down about it all but this last week I’ve cooked some yummy classic dishes from scratch so you could say I’m really proud of myself. I know I can do it, but it’s just finding that confidence and cracking on with it.
  • Parenting. A few weeks ago, there was no way I would have added parenting onto my happy list, as i’m prone to the odd mummy guilt trip along with hitting the terrible two’s, it’s been bloody hard work. I felt a bit lost with my parenting direction, as though nothing I was doing was “right” or good enough or that I should be doing more with her. That being said I’ve turned a corner and feel like I’ve become a much calmer parent by trying to understand my little munchkins needs instead of just blowing up when she won’t put shoes on. I’m also just having more fun with her, as her speech is developing its easier and she makes me laugh all the time.

NotJustPhoebe.wordpress.com

So there it is, my happy list for the week. I always have this lovely feeling after finishing my list, it makes me look back, relive and enjoy those moments all over again. I have a fantastic bloggers journal that I’m constantly scribbling in and I always write down my highlight of the day, just to remind myself of this little quote from Alice Morse Earle.

Do you keep a weekly or monthly happy list? Let me know how you keep track of it all. Thanks for reading and if you liked it, leave a comment below.

 

Linked to the following blogs:

Cuddle Fairy

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie

You Baby Me Mummy

Diary of an imperfect mum
23 thoughts on “Don’t Worry Be Happy

  1. All these lovely pics. SO many good memories you shared here. I love the name too, Phoebe. It’s just lovely 😍
    #CandidCuddles

    Like

  2. Always nice to put together a happy list so we can make sense of all the business and appreciate what’s been happening! Life flies by so fast. I need some tips on keeping those plants alive though, I’m terrible! 😦 Thanks for linking up #MarvMondays. Kaye xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really does feel lovely looking back and making time to appreciate my little world. Plants, I can only assume the pruning in the winter helped, especially for the roses, and good soil and lots of LOVE! Thanks for hosting X

      Like

  3. Your cooking looks yum. A joint birthday 4 ways sounds amazing – I bet that was a very busy room of 2-year-olds. I love those song lyrics – it’s a great reminder to take a breath & know everything will be okay. Thanks so much for sharing with #candidcuddles, I hope to see you back in August. x

    Like

    1. Thanks Becky, I’m getting better at my cooking, just gotta believe eh! The room was hot and sweaty, and once the sugar rush wore off it was time to leave, but so much fun and we’ve known then all since newborns so even more special! Thanks for hosting and enjoy the break, I’ll be back 🙂 X

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Catie, I have my ups and downs and it’s just working on how I deal with the little issues , as I know sometimes my reactions or words don’t help. I’ve found that observing her more has helped and trying to really listen to her, hard work but getting there. Thanks for reading X

      Like

  4. Lots of lovely things on this happy list – Peonies are beautiful and swimming can be such fun with kids. I particularly liked your candid last point – parenting can be really tough so I’m so pleased you’re feeling happier about it at the mo – I think you’re right, trying to recognise that tantrums are a perfectly normal part of toddler life and just working through them is very healthy. #TheList

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, it’s been a roller coaster this week but I’ve remained calm, taken each tantrum at a time, tried to listen and remember it’s totally normal at this age! Thanks for reading and I hope it lasts 😉 x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like you have had a lovely week and had lots of fun! We haven’t done much because of the rain but it’s still been good. I used to write a weekly happy list but it kind of fizzled out, I might revive the series. Lovely post 🙂 xx #thelist

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it was a busy one! You should so start the happy list again, I don’t do one every week, as sometimes life gets in the way but when I do have time I write that happy list with a smile! Good luck and thanks for stopping by X

      Like

  6. What a fabulous happy list. I’ve smiled throughout! I love the hugs and a joint super hero party, that is genious pooling resources like that. Pigeon speak in toddlers is sooo cute. Can’t wait for my now one year old to start talking a bit. I may regret saying that though! #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You will 90% love it but when the mumming starting it’s like why did I wish this upon myself…please be my baby again!! Also gotta watch my potty mouth even more now, as Phoebe copied me when I tripped over and say “Ohhh shit” word prefect! Oops 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below

