Pregnancy #2 Diary 2nd Trimester [Weeks 17-18]

Now well into my second trimester and my pregnancy diary up to date, I’ll now be doing a diary post every 2 weeks. These last few weeks my body has definitely been changing and I’m getting lots more movement from the little bean. With the weather getting cold recently I’m finding it hard to dress the growing bump and other than  bra’s i’ve still only got one pair of maternity jeans, which I really must sort out. Phoebe has been going through some development leaps so that’s been hard work at times, but happy that i’m almost half way there. We’ve been out and about lots with trips to the local park enjoying the Autumn weather and colours.

  • Symptoms 

I’ve been having a few dizzy spells, when I’ve been rushing around after Phoebe so trying to take it easy. I read this week that your heart is working 40 to 50 percent harder than it did before you were pregnant,which is crazy when you think about! I would say my boobs are less sore at the moment but getting bigger each day, having to watch what I wear at playgroups these days, booby mamma alert. My joints have also starting clicking more and I’m noticing lots more pain around my hips and ankles. Another thing I had forgotten about was the back ache, not nice but hoping to start doing some yoga to help ease it a little.

  • Sickness

The mornings are the worst time for me and after meals, as I’m still getting little bits of sickness and then the feeling has been sticking around too. Annoying when I have so much to do in the mornings, but just trying to stay positive and hope it goes soon. I’m going to speak to my midwife about maybe trying another tablet incase the ones I’m on have stopped working on me.

  • My Emotions

I would say my mood swings haven’t been that bad but I have found myself getting frustrated with the little lady much quicker than I normally would. Still very emotional in terms of watching cute videos and hearing things on the radio that make me cry but feeling a lot more upbeat in myself and starting to enjoy the pregnancy bubble.

  • Food & Appetite

I’ve been so thirsty at the moment and feel like I’m drinking so much water, which then ends up making me need the toilet even more than I already do. Food wise I’ve been loving pasties and sausage rolls, as well as grapes, just can’t get enough of them. Plus I’ve been baking again this week, chocolate chip muffins which me and Phoebe made together.

img_2925

  • Bump & Baby

Around week 17 -18 baby bean has a huge growth spurt and is really starting to put on weight and don’t I know it. Also baby will be developing their sucking and swallowing reflexes, so we may get to see a thumb sucker on our next scan, which will be so cute.  Baby bean has been developing his or her most unique feature: fingerprints during week 18.  Pads of fat accumulating on the fingertips and toes will turn into distinguishing swirls, which I think it so amazing. Lots going on and I’m starting to feel more movements from the little one, which takes some getting used to but now I love it. It’s not full on kicking yet, just little flutters and movements, hard to explain I suppose but those who have been pregnant will know what I mean.

  • Phoebe

Phoebe is such a lively little girl at the moment as she’s just gone through a huge development leap. It’s been lovely to watch but hard work at times as she’s becoming cheeky and very demanding. Tantrums are full on and she’s been getting very kicky again which is horrible as she aims it at me, and with the bump coming it’s not what I need. Overall she’s been a star but those naughty moments are testing me.

At the end of this month we have our 20 week scan, which has seem to come around so quickly. The thought of seeing our little bean again makes me very excited and I think we have finally made our decision about finding out the sex, but you’ll have to stay tuned for that result.

Linked to the following blogs:

A Mum Track Mind
2 thoughts on “Pregnancy #2 Diary 2nd Trimester [Weeks 17-18]

  1. Ah it’s lovely to hear how your pregnancy is going, and the bump is looking good too! I really hope the morning sickness disappears as you move more into the 2nd trimester. Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy. Thanks for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Claire, my bump is growing at a rapid rate much bigger than with my first and the sickness is better, only first thing in the morning now 🙂 I’m not 22 weeks so hoping things are on the up! Thanks for reading X

      Like

Leave a comment below

